This Weekend in Bloomington, IN: Poststructuralism and OLP

The Center for Theoretical Inquiry in the Humanities at Indiana University is sponsoring a symposium this weekend that may be of interest to our readers. The program is as follows:

Poststructuralism and Ordinary Language Philosophy: A Symposium

Joshua Kates (English), convener

Friday, April 8, Faculty Room, University Club, Indiana Memorial Union

5p.m.: Geoffrey Bennington (Emory University), “‘Différance is Reference’: Derrida and Frege.”

Moderator: Oana Panaїté (French & Italian, IU)

Geoffrey Bennington is Asa Griggs Candler Professor of French and Professor of Comparative Literature at Emory University, and Professor of Philosophy at the European Graduate School, as well as a member of the International College of Philosophy. He is a literary critic and philosopher, best known as an expert on deconstruction and the works of Jacques Derrida and Jean-François Lyotard. Bennington has translated many of Derrida’s works into English. His numerous publications include the book Jacques Derrida, co-written with Derrida; Writing the Event and Late Lyotard; essays on Derrida collected in Legislations, Interrupting Derrida, and Not Half No End; as well as publications on Rousseau and Kant, developing original accounts of the “paradox of the legislator” in the former and “interrupted teleology” in the latter.

Saturday, April 9, Dogwood Room, Indiana Memorial Union

9:30 a.m.: Peter Fenves (Northwestern University), “From ‘Ousia’ to ‘Singular Terms.’”

Moderator: Eyal Peretz (Comparative Literature, IU)

Peter Fenves, Joan and Sarepta Harrison Professor of Literature, is professor of German, Comparative Literary Studies, and Jewish Studies, as well as adjunct professor of Philosophy, Political Science, and English at Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois. He is the author of A Peculiar Fate: Metaphysics and World-History in Kant(Cornell University Press, 1991), “Chatter”: Language and History in Kierkegaard (Stanford University Press, 1993),Arresting Language: From Leibniz to Benjamin (Stanford University Press, 2001), and Late Kant: Towards Another Law of the Earth (Routledge, 2003), which was translated into German in 2010; and most recently The Messianic Reduction: Walter Benjamin and the Shape of Time (Stanford University Press, 2010). He is currently working on two books, one entitled “Revolution in the Air,” the other a brief study of Benjamin and China.

11:15 a.m.: Paul Grimstad (Independent Scholar), “The Whole Whirl of Organism: Notes on Natural Language, Discourse and Persons.”

Moderator: Jennifer Fleissner (English, IU)

Paul Grimstad is the author of Experience and Experimental Writing: Literary Pragmatism from Emerson to the Jameses (Oxford, 2013), the Introduction to which is to be the focus of a forthcoming symposium in the journal nonsite. His writing has appeared in American Literary History, Poetics Today, n +1, the London Review of Books, the Times Literary Supplement, as well as in the essay collection Consequences of Skepticism: Stanley Cavell and Literary Studies. He is now at work on two books: one on the relation of genre to literary modernism and another on polymathy and polymaths.

2:30 p.m.: Toril Moi (Duke University), “Signs, Marks, and Archie Bunker: Post-Saussurean Visions of Language.”

Moderator: Ed Comentale (English, IU)

Toril Moi is James B. Duke Professor of Literature and Romance Studies and Professor of English, Philosophy and Theatre Studies at Duke University and Director of the Center for Philosophy, Arts, and Literature at Duke. She has three broad areas of interest: feminist theory and women’s writing; the intersection of literature, philosophy and aesthetics; and ordinary language philosophy in the tradition of Wittgenstein, Cavell and Austin.  Her books include Sexual/Textual Politics: Feminist Literary Theory (1985; 2nd edition 2002), Simone de Beauvoir: The Making of an Intellectual Woman (1994; second edition with a major new introduction 2008); and What Is a Woman? And Other Essays (1999), republished in a shorter version as Sex, Gender and the Body (2005). She is the editor ofThe Kristeva Reader (1986), and of French Feminst Thought (1987). In 2006, Henrik Ibsen and the Birth of Modernism: Art, Theater, Philosophy, was published in English by Oxford University Press and in Norwegian by Pax Forlag (Oslo). The book won the MLA’s Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for the best book in Comparative Literary Studies in 2007. She currently has a manuscript on Poststructuralism and Ordinary Language Philosophy in press.

Professor Moi will discuss Jeffrey Knapp and Walter Benn Michaels’ “Against Theory” and Paul de Man’s “Semiology and Rhetoric.”

4:15 p.m.: Roundtable Discussion.

Moderator: Joshua Kates (English, IU)

5:30 p.m.: Closing Reception at the College Arts & Humanities Center (1211 E. Atwater Ave.).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s