Site-Specific Content: Invitation

Dear Readers, As eager as we are to share news from other regions of the internet with you, we are also always open to your site-specific content.  Please don’t hesitate to contact us with your OLP & Literary Studies themed interviews, essays, off-beat reviews, and sketches (here I’m thinking of Alva Edwards’ delightful “MLA 2013,” the opening paragraphs of which are pasted below). Yours, Eds.

image

Image: Photo Contact Sheet A0389, Copyright (c) 1974, WHPO

Au Bon Pain

There are two Au Bon Pains near the Hynes Convention Center in downtown Boston, site of this year’s Modern Language Association conference. MLA is the main professional organization for scholars of language and literature in America; ABP is a French-style chain that sells made-to-order sandwiches and delicious, chocolate-filled pastries. 

Having one Au Bon Pain in your life is lucky; having two is a curse. On the first day of the convention my friend tells me to meet him at Au Bon Pain. He shows up at the one; I show up at the other. Cell phones are no help. “I am here, where are you?” I say into my iPhone. “By the sandwich counter,” my friend replies. “That’s funny,” I say. “I’m standing by the sandwich counter too.” 

(click here to keep reading)

Alva Edwards, “MLA 2013,” n+1 online, 24 January 2013

Leave a Reply

