New blog design: request for feedback

Dear readers,

As you can see, I’ve changed OLP & Literary Studies Online’s blog design “theme.” I think the way this theme displays text, in particular, is more appealing and readable than the old theme, and there are other minor differences I like about it. But what really matters is what you think. So, please send me feedback about the new look, either in the comments section to this post, or by email. I appreciate it very much. And if it turns out that most of you don’t like it, I will change it back, or look for something different.

I’ll be heading out of town with my family (my son is playing in a baseball tournament in Florida) for the next week, so I won’t be able to respond to your notes till I return. Thanks in advance for your patience.

Wishing you all a happy new year! And as ever, thank you for reading,

Bernie

8 thoughts on “New blog design: request for feedback

  1. Looks fine. I like the neutral background behind the plant. Evokes an image of those Asian dry brush paintings.

  2. Hi Bernie, I love the theme for readability, but wonder about the rotating photos. Are they stock? Any chance they could be switched out for something bookish? Aesthetic nitpicking aside, the blog content is just as excellent as always. You know, I’ve got the site set as my homepage. A world of thanks to you, Ping, Byron, as well as Carina and Magdalena for keeping it up! (Any chance I’ll see you in Chicago this March?) Best to you and yours!

  3. Thanks, everyone (including those who’ve emailed me), for the feedback. Glad the new design seems good to everyone. Carly, the rotating photos are indeed stock (they come packaged with this particular WordPress theme). I am going to try to find a way to customize the theme, so that we can substitute our own images. But for now, I’m off to the MLA in Seattle (where I’m looking forward to meeting up with Rob Chodat, John Gibson, and Yi-Ping Ong, at our panel on Wittgenstein and Narrative), so theme-fiddling will have to wait till later in the month. Hope everyone’s well, and that your new year’s off to a good (if chilly!) start.

  4. I peeked behind the digital curtain and learned that I can in fact change the header photos. But I also learned that I can choose to have no header images at all, and I’ve decided to try that for a while. (To my eyes, the site looks even cleaner now.)

  5. with no contrast between the background of the text and the borders the text is kind of floating and harder to follow, and to know where things begin/end.
    i liked the pics, they set a nice contemplative tone, but don’t miss them.

Leave a Reply

